...

重啟瀏覽器以初始化 Google 地圖。

跨文化工作

文化是決定員工工作時能否全力以赴,及組織能否有效引導活力,達到最大成效的關鍵。企業的「軟」實力往往說明表現優良的公司,與落後公司的區別。高效公司盡力整合營運、組織、策略、人才和文化達到和諧,乃至實現最高效率

面對差異

不同文化的習俗,尤其是令人感到陌生且一無所知的習俗,常被視為「異常」。這也難怪多數人常不經意地將不熟悉的事物認定為怪異行為。當人看到罕見的觀念和信仰時,或多或少都會有這種反應,十分正常。但若將單一價值觀強加於讓人人各具特色的文化面向,則可能產生問題。文化沒有優劣,只有特點符合典型的文化。彌平和包容差異的關鍵,在於理解和認同文化可以有所不同。

荷蘭與日本

舉個簡單甚至有些老生常談的例子,與多文化的國際客戶會面時,有各種開啟話題的方式。試想與典型荷蘭客戶會面時,他們多半以抱怨天氣或大眾運輸工具等外在方面為開端。除此之外,他們的溝通方式也傾向直接了當。這樣的溝通方式可能讓人覺得無禮或挑釁。可是他們也期待您開誠布公。

日本客戶則完全相反,他們的文化極為含蓄委婉。當您提出封閉式問題時,日本客戶的答案時常為「肯定」,即使有時答案是拒絕或懸而未決亦同。在日本文化,人們多半能分辨個中差異(我也不知道他們怎麼做到的)。而談及跨文化溝通,因為文化差異造成的誤會實在屢見不鮮。

Share this article
嗅覺如何促進生產力並使人放鬆。 Read now 嗅覺如何促進生產力並使人放鬆。 隔絕干擾 Read now 隔絕干擾

...

Toggle navigation again to reinitialize Google Maps.

Working Across Cultures

Culture is a key element for defining the conditions under which people are enabled to release maximum energy at work, and the conditions under which an organisation can most effectively channel that energy to achieve maximum results. This ‘soft’ side of the business often explains what distinguishes the best performing companies from those that lag behind. High performing companies fine-tune business operations, organisation, strategy, people and culture, to achieve maximum compatibility and inter-connectedness leading to the best performance possible.

Dealing with the difference

Customs from different cultures, especially those foreign and unknown to the observer, are often perceived as ‘not normal’. And it’s no mystery why this happens. Most people, often subconsciously, label something unfamiliar as odd behaviour. Everyone does it to some degree, and that’s a perfectly normal reaction when seeing something unusual to your own views and beliefs. Where it can go wrong however, is by placing a value on the cultural aspects that make everyone different. Not one culture is better or worth more, simply because its defining traits fit into a certain label. The key to working out the differences and coming to mutual acceptance, is by understanding and acknowledging that it is OK that some cultures are indeed different.

Dutch vs. Japanese

A simple, and maybe a little cliché example, is that when you have a meeting with an international client, there are different ways to start when it comes to multiple cultures. Think of a meeting with a stereotypical Dutch person, they’re probably going to start with a complaint about an external aspect such as the weather or the public transport. Also, it’s very likely that they are very direct in communicating. This can come across as rude or you might even feel attacked. Yet they also expect you to be very direct with them.

On the complete opposite side there’s Japan, which has one of the cultures with the least amount of direct communication. When you ask a closed question to a Japanese person, their answer will often be ‘yes’. Even at times when they want to say ‘no’, or if they mean maybe. In Japanese culture, most people can tell the difference between these answers (don’t ask how). When it comes down to cross-cultural persons communicating however, it’s very common for miscommunications to occur because of it.

Share this article
How the sense of smell can stimulate productivity and relaxation. Read now How the sense of smell can stimulate productivity and relaxation. How to dress for office parties Read now How to dress for office parties