...

重啟瀏覽器以初始化 Google 地圖。

隔絕干擾

我們都有同樣的經驗,發現智慧型手機占用的時間增加,或為此感到困擾。而這是完全可以理解的,因為智慧型手機確實便利到令人難以割捨。但智慧型手機對成效、人際關係,甚至生活的影響究竟有多深?當智慧型手機的世界第一大製造商都因成癮日益攀升的影響力發出警訊時,便可知事情的嚴重性。

智慧型手機成癮的害處

據《華爾街日報》的報導指出,智慧型手機對大腦有顯著的負面影響。仰賴智慧型手機便利的技術解決方案,削弱我們的智能。當手機計算能更快速、有效、少出錯時,何必動腦呢?或當答案名符其實在您指尖時,何必思考難題和複雜的回答?

《紐約時報》(New York Times)提出另一個例子,表示智慧型手機正逐步扼殺我們的禮儀和情感。有多少次同伴寧可瀏覽手機不看菜單,破壞您用餐的心情?或寧可使用通訊軟體交談,也不實際參與面對面的人際互動?這類「視而不見」讓我們脫離現實,沉浸在自己的小世界。

報導進一步指出智慧型手機不僅損害交際能力,生理方面的影響也日漸明顯。簡訊頸(是的,有這麼一個詞)的情況在整個社會逐漸加劇,只稍看一眼全球各地火車車廂。我敢說,您看到的人十之八九盯著手機不放。要命的是,您八成也一樣。低頭施加在身體上的壓力可能造成頸椎突出、神經壓迫和姿勢問題。或許維持正確姿勢看來文不對題,但研究顯示姿勢確實影響我們的情緒、行為,甚至記憶。看來在國小三年級時,老師要求我們坐姿端正不無道理。

工作用智慧型手機:扼殺效率?

既然人手一支的智慧型手機嚴重影響我們的人際關係,想必也影響了我們的專業成果。而事實證明如此。OfficeTeam 2017 年的調查證實一般辦公室職員通常一天使用手機 56 分鐘。相當占據尋常一週工時的 5 小時。如果單就年輕職員而論,這些數字將再攀升。由此可知,智慧型手機的確扼殺了我們的效率。問題在於該如何解決?

答案是一言難盡。多數人工作需要手機,而攜帶只能撥打和接聽電話的傳統手機無法滿足現今社會的需求。其中的解決方案是使用者的自制力。以拒絕使用手機處理外務作為起步。或使用螢幕時間管理應用程式,並堅守規則。不過這方法對企業經營者,或能設身處地為雇主和工作著想的盡職員工來說較容易。一般坐辦公桌的受薪階級職員收到應用程式通知後,會繼續觀賞趣味的貓咪影片。

只要不把手機放在桌面上,而且只在必要時使用,就能減少接收螢幕隨時的刺激。縮短螢幕時間是不讓智慧型手機成癮影響您專業成果的方式之一,但除此之外,您仍需努力改善人際關係。《哈芬登郵報》(Huffington Post)提議若要改善開會品質和您的成就,開會最好不帶手機。如此一來,手邊的工作和您的同事便能得到應有的關注。除非您在等十分重要的來電,否則 30 分鐘後回電或接聽絕不成問題。

隔絕手機

另一個簡單隔絕手機的方式是制訂一套規則,讓所有人在開會、用餐前,或在家也一樣,將手機放在桌上的盒子。這方式麻煩在必須調降手機的音量,或一直設為靜音。而且永遠有人忘記設定手機,以致盒子持續傳出低鳴,或更不幸的,整個盒子跟著強烈震動,讓人有在工地旁開會的錯覺。於是團隊研發 Block。他們想到快速、立即的解決方案是種六邊形的盒子(我們愛死它了!),稱為 Block。這些時尚盒子的獨特之處是使用者不需事前準備。這個盒子是所謂的法拉第籠(Faraday cage),其金屬構造的設計專門隔離盒子內外所有的訊號。所以您的手機百分之百離線。可說是將您的預防措施升級。

無論我們怎麼做,都擺脫不了智慧型手機了。我們已捨不得放開掌中的世界,所以最好的處理方式和對抗其他成癮相同;要不試著戒除,要不節制使用,同時記得關心周遭事物。

在 Spaces,我們樂於思考眼前的問題,同時提供解決方案。因此,12 月 17 日開始我們將在荷蘭 Spaces Vijzelstraat 的快閃店販售 Block,之後也將提供會議室使用。所以無論辦公室、舒適的家庭聚餐需要,或純粹因為 Block 的造型適合您的居家擺設,您都能藉此機會抗拒智慧型手機。

Share this article
跨文化工作 Read now 跨文化工作 新的 Spaces 將於 2019 年 1 月開幕包含巴黎產業重鎮、美國精選據點等 Read now 新的 Spaces 將於 2019 年 1 月開幕包含巴黎產業重鎮、美國精選據點等

...

Toggle navigation again to reinitialize Google Maps.

Blocking out the distraction

We’ve all been there, noticed it, or felt annoyed by it; the smartphone is taking up more and more of our time. And that’s perfectly understandable, because they’re just too damn handy to ignore. But just how deep does it affect our results, our relationships, or our lives even? When even the world’s largest smartphone manufacturers are raising the alarms about the rising effects of addiction, you know that something’s up.

The Smartphone Addiction is bad for you

According to an article by the Wall Street Journal, there’s a measurably negative effect on our brains. By becoming dependent on the smartphones’ convenient technological solutions, our intellect weakens. Why use your mind to make calculations when your phone can do it faster, more efficiently and less prone to errors? Or why think of complex answers to difficult questions when the answers are literally at the tips of your fingers?

Another example is presented by the New York Times, who claim that smartphones are killing our manners, and our moods in the process. How many dinners have been ruined by the company browsing their phones rather than the menu? Or talking via Messenger or WhatsApp rather than partaking in actual, face-to-face human interactions? This so-called “inattentional blindness” is said to remove us from reality, effectively absorbing us in our own little world.

The article further states that besides putting a reasonable dent in our capacities to interact socially, the physiological effects are becoming noticeable as well. Text-necks (yes that’s a thing) are becoming more pronounced throughout our society, just take a look at what’s happening at any time in any random train compartment around the world. Odds are, most people you’re looking at are looking at their phones. Heck, you’re probably doing it yourself. Putting such a strain on your body can cause neck hernias, pinched nerves and posture issues. Maintaining a correct posture might seem irrelevant, but research shows that it positively influences our mood, our behaviour and even our memory. Turns out your third-grade teacher was absolutely right when she told you to sit up straight.

Smartphones at work: productivity killer?

When something that everyone owns affects our interpersonal relationships so heavily, it has to have some effect on our professional results as well. And as it turns out, it does. A 2017 survey held by OfficeTeam showed that in general, the average office employee spends roughly 56 minutes a day on their phones. That adds up to almost 5 full hours in a regular work week. And those figures increase when just observing the younger employees. So yes, smartphones do kill our productivity. Which raises the question, how should we deal with it?

The answer is not simple. Most of us simply need our phones for work, and in today’s day and age, walking around with an ancient cellphone used for calls only simply won’t suffice. One solution lies in the user’s ability to show self-restraint. Refusing to use your phone for anything other than work is a start. Or using a screen-time app and sticking to it. But this will be easier for those running their own business, or for the really dedicated employees who feel a personal connection to their employer and job. The standard payroll employee who sits behind a desk will still watch that funny cat video after receiving a notification.

Something that will decrease the number of stimuli received from the always-on screen is to leave your phone off of your desk, and to only use it when you actually need it. Decreasing screen-time is one way of not letting your smartphone addiction impact your professional results, but there’s a lot that be done to improve your interpersonal relationships as well. A suggestion made by the Huffington Post to improve the quality of meetings and your success, is to leave phones out of all meetings altogether. This way, the task at hand is receiving the attention it deserves, as are your colleagues. Unless you’re expecting a very important phone call, calling back or answering can always wait 30 minutes.

Just block it

Another way to simply block out your phones is by establishing a set of rules that has everyone leaving their phone in a box on the table upon entering a meeting, dinner, or at home of course. The annoying part of this is always having to turn down your phone, or always having to set it on silent. And then there’s always going to be that one person who keeps on forgetting to do so. Causing a series of muffled noises coming out of the box, or worse, lets the box vibrate with such intensity you might as well hold your meeting on a construction site. That’s where the team from Block comes in. They came up with a fast, immediate solution with a box in the shape of a hexagon (we love it!), simply called Block. The difference with these good-looking boxes, is that they require no preparations from the user whatsoever. The box itself is a so-called Faraday cage, a metal construction designed to keep all kinds of signals out (or in). This way, your phone is absolutely and 100% offline. Talk about taking your precautions to the next level.

No matter which way we turn it, the smartphone is here to stay. We’ve grown too attached to having the world in our hands to let it go now, so the best way to deal with it is the same as any other addictions; try to avoid it altogether or use it with moderation and remember to pay attention to your surroundings.

At Spaces, we like to think about the problem at hand and provide a solution in the process as well. That’s why in The Netherlands, we will be selling Block at our pop-up shop at Spaces Vijzelstraat from December 17th, and offering them for our meeting rooms after that. So whether you want one for your office, for those comfy family dinners, or just because they look so good in your home – this is your time to stand up to the smartphone.

Share this article
How to dress for office parties Read now How to dress for office parties What's new in the new year? Read now What's new in the new year?